“Go learn something first”: Startup whiz Bob Dorf tells me his advice to young entrepreneurs

After I graduated from college and found myself unemployed, all I wanted was to work for someone else. I wanted to go to an office where I would work with other people, most of whom were older than me and better at what we did than I was. I wanted a manager who would mentor and heavily edit me. Once, during a networking phone call, a marketing executive told me he had resumed agency work after years of working from home because he needed a job that required him to leave the house.

“Really?” I said. “I need a job that requires me to put on pants.”

According to Bob Dorf, my instincts weren’t too far off base. During today’s bootcamp for participants in the NYU Entrepreneurs Challenge, the co-author of The Startup Owner’s Manual: A Step-by-Step Guide for Building a Great Company chatted with me about why all young entrepreneurs should experience working for someone else.  Get the full story and all of Dorf’s insights at Forbes.com.

Leave a Reply

